Former Ghosts

Former Ghosts is the collaborative synthpop project of Freddy Ruppert, formerly of This Song is a Mess But So Am I. The band is also comprised of Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart, Zola Jesus’ Nika Roza and TEARIST’s Yasmine Kittles. Ruppert is the lead songwriter on this brutally gloomy project, who released their debut album ‘Fleurs’ on Upset the Rhythm in 2009.

It wasn’t until their second album ‘New Love’, also on Upset the Rhythm, that Former Ghosts joined Division for print press. This record sees the band move into darker territory still, albeit with a pop sheen that wasn’t present on its predecessor. There’s no doubt that Ruppert has continued to grow as an artist with every new release, and ‘New Love’ is surely his most accomplished work to date.