Grade 2 sign to Hellcat for Graveyard Island album


Isle of Wight street punks Grade 2 will release their third album and Hellcat debut, Graveyard Island, on October 11th. The album was recorded and produced by Rancid’s Tim Armstrong at Armstrong’s Shiprec Studios and mixed by The Interrupters’ Kevin Bivona. Today, the band unveils the video for Graveyard Island’s title track.

Grade 2 is vocalist & bassist Sid Ryan, vocalist & guitarist Jack Chatfield, and drummer Jacob Hull. Formed in 2013, the band met at school where they would spend their lunch break playing covers of classic punk tunes together in the music room. Since their formation, the band has released several EPs and two studio albums; Mainstream View (2016) and Break The Routine (2017).

While touring, the band met Lars Frederiksen (Rancid) who took an interest in Grade 2 and ultimately played some of their music videos to his bandmate Tim Armstrong. Armstrong liked what he saw and not only agreed to produce the band’s forthcoming record but signed them to Hellcat. Last December, Grade 2 flew to Los Angeles, and, over the course of two weeks, tracked the dozen songs that comprise Graveyard Island. “He’s one of the most efficient people we’ve ever worked with. He knows exactly what he wants. In the studio, he wanted to capture how we sound onstage, so we were tracking songs live with a scratch vocal,” vocalist/bassist Sid Ryan said on working with Armstrong.

Graveyard Island offers proof that punk rock is still as relevant in 2019 as it was in 1976. “Although we’re more than forty years on from when punk began, I actually think the times are very similar now to how they were back then,” says Sid Ryan. “The political climate today means that people see the worst in everything, which means that for us there’s a lot to write about. Everything in the country is pretty much turning to shit! There are certain parts of our record that would make sense were it released in 1976.”

Graveyard Island Track List:

1. Tired of It
2. Reality is Calling
3. Graveyard Island
4. Look Up
5. Murder Town
6. Don’t Look Back
7. Johnny Aggro
8. Bowling Green Lane
9. Dover Street
10. JSA
11. Monsters
12. On The Radar

The Chats release Identity Theft video

Aussie punks, The Chats have released their catchy new single, Identity Theft today. The cheeky charlies!

Dates on their huge UK tour this December are starting to sell out…

Bad Breeding release C.S.A.M video ahead of UK tour

Banned by YouTube on upload, Bad Breeding‘s latest message in video form for explosve track, C.S.A.M is as explosive as their live show. See them play around the UK on their tour from next week at the following shows:

July 21st Crofter’s Rights, Bristol
July 22nd The Polar Bear, Hull
July 23rd Temple of Boom, Leeds
July 24th The Moon, Cardiff
July 25th Electrowerkz, London

Bad Breeding – C.S.A.M. from One Little Indian Records on Vimeo.

Grohl, Homme and Arctic Monkeys join The Chats in LA

The Chat’s LA show this week saw Dave Grohl, Josh Homme and Arctic Monkeys in the audience for their sold out show at the Regent Theatre.

Their next UK shows will be at Reading & Leeds festivals. UK tour dates for December can be found here.

Photo: Aaron Farley

Chats_in_LA_Ph_Aaron Farley

The Chats announce huge UK tour for December


From forming in their mate’s bong shed in Coolum, Queensland 2016 when all three members were seventeen, to scoring a 24-carot bona fide viral hit on YouTube with ‘Smoko’ (currently up to 7.2m views) and headlining the Electric Ballroom in London in two short years, The Chats ascent has been rapid to say the least.

Following their forthcoming first appearance at the Reading and Leeds Festival in August, the Australian pub rock trio (they prefer ‘shed rock’) have also announced that they will be closing 2019 with a full UK tour in December, culminating in a headline show at The Forum, London on December 14th.


The Chats join Division ahead of UK shows

This week we welcome Australian punks, The Chats to the roster whose Smoko video kicked them off in fine viral style with over 7m people now tuning in. Their latest Pub Feed video (below) has almost reached a million already.

Look out for their cheeky mullets playing live in the UK soon…


Bad Breeding’s powerful new album, Exiled

Bad Breeding joined us ahead of their new album, Exiled that will drop via One Little Indian Records on June 21st. Right now there is not another band even close to matching their mesmeric hardcore-noise fuelled with political subject matter. The album is a stunning piece of work.

Love so far has come from Mojo ★★★★, The 405‘s Track of the Day, Clash, The Quietus, Louder Than War, DIY and more to follow. Find them out on the road annihilating venues this July.


Nice Biscuit release Goodbye Luya single

Australia’s newest psychedelic buzz came in the cute form of Nice Biscuit, whose live shows at TGE and London were nothing other than exceptional.

Picked as one of 10 bands not too miss at TGE by NME, their luscious new chiller, Goodbye Luya picked up love from the NME playlist, Clash, London in Stereo and many more. Expect big things from this sextet as they form their new sound.

Photo by Jeff Andersen Jr

Surfbort pick up a lot of love from the UK

Surfbort‘s unique blend of garage and punk arrived back in the UK last month for more shows that were once again, packed to the gills.

Armed with an amazing new animated video feat’ Gibby Haynes from the Butthole Surfers, Dani who fronts the band spoke to Guardian and NME ahead of TGE where they picked up a lead review from DIY and a feature in their June 2019 issue.

Look out for features coming from Dork, Huck, Crack, Autre and more this month….

Surfbort - lo-res photo credit - Pooneh Ghana

Ane Brun and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra announce live album


Award winning song-writer Ane Brun is back with a new live album recorded with The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and conductor Hans Ek during a run of three sold out shows between 16–18 March.

LIVE AT BERWALDHALLEN features sixteen tracks drawn from work across the singer and songwriter’s fifteen years of studio recordings, and is released digitally today from by Brun’s own Balloon Ranger Recordings, and available on vinyl and CD on October 5th.

Page: 1 of 194